Front Page @Instagram @Facebook @Twitter Custom Site Search

Photo Credit: Pending

"Welcome To Wellington County!"

County Of Wellington 
 74 Woolwich Street _ Guelph, ON_ N1H 3T9

Tel  (519) 837-2600, Toll Free 1-800-663-0750


1257 - 8/11/2022 6:43:41 AM  

Wellington County and Surrounding Communities Developed a Regional Strategy for Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging

Released For Publication - July 26, 2022 

Wellington County along with other communities in  Southwestern Ontario worked with Community Energy Association to develop a Regional EV  Charging Network Strategy to inform future growth of electric vehicle charging infrastructure  across the area.

Those included are the City of Guelph, City of St. Marys, City of Stratford,  County of Perth, County of Dufferin, Bruce County, Huron County, and Grey County.  

The Government of Canada has committed to zero-emissions for all new light-duty vehicles sold  in Canada by 2035. The transition to electric vehicles is starting to gain ground. In the study  area, 67% (659 residents) of survey respondents said they would consider buying an electric vehicle in the next 2-5 years.  

“We are in a bit of a chicken and egg situation where we need to transition to greener  transportation but we don’t have the infrastructure,” says Karen Chisholme, Climate Change  and Sustainability Manager from The County of Wellington. “The lack of infrastructure is  preventing people from purchasing EVs. With this plan we have a clearer path forward as to  what the investment will be – how many station, what type of stations, where they will be  located, and how our communities will benefit economically.” 

The network consists of two types of chargers: 

Level 2 chargers are typically located in proximity to local tourist destinations where  people naturally spend more time, such as restaurants, shopping, and attractions but  can also benefit residents who may not have access to home charging.  

Level 3 chargers are faster and used for quick pit-stops on longer road trips.

“Providing charging options close to key destinations is important for continuing to attract  visitors while also giving options to residents as we transition to electric vehicles,” says  Wellington County Warden Kelly Linton. “Partnering with our neighbours means we will be able  to better strategize and benefit from a larger connected network and make it easier for visitors  to explore across our area of Southwestern Ontario.” 

Emissions from transportation are 39% of Wellington County’s total greenhouse gas emission  (over 467,000 tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent per year). The Regional EV Charging Network  Strategy is the County’s first step in supporting the community in the transition to electric  vehicles. The Strategy is posted on the County’s climate change website along with upcoming  EV educational events. 


The County of Wellington is located in south-western Ontario just over 100 kilometres west of Toronto along Highway 401.

The County is made up of seven member municipalities including the Town of Erin, Town of Minto, Township of Wellington North, Township of Mapleton, Township of Centre Wellington, Township of Guelph/Eramosa and the Township of Puslinch.


Front Page | About | Privacy Policy | Social Media | Join | Contact